Winter 2012/13 Review

Winter 2012/13 Anime Reviews (Spoiler Free!)
Chart: Winter 2012/13!

These are some of my favorite OST’s from this season, feel free to listen to them while you read.

Rinjin-Bu – Be My Friend [Download]

Yohko – Mukai Kaze [Download]

Satou Rina, Inoue Marina & Chihara Minori – Shiawase High Tension [Download]

μ’s – Bokura wa Ima no Naka de [Download]

Nomizu Iori – Black + White [Download]

Suzaki Aya – Dramatic Market Ride [Download]

Suzaki Aya – Neguse [Download]

ZAQ – Altertion [Download]

How this works:
I will list everything I have seen regardless if I dropped it or not. To read what I thought about the series, just click on the hotlink and it will redirect you to that section of the post. Alternatively if you would like to read my opinions on every single series for this season, you are free to scroll down freely. Series that aren’t listed below are series that I either did not touch or cannot see due to not watching the previous material. For example, because I did not see all of Da Capo, I did not watch Da Capo III this season. Anyways, here’s the list!

What I’m currently watching (Not including stuff from Fall 2012)

Boku no Imouto wa Osaka Okan
Chihayafuru 2
GJ-bu
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai NEXT
– Puchimas!: Petit iDOLM@STER
Kotoura-san
– Love Live! School Idol Project
Mangirl!
Maoyuu Maou Yuusha
Minami-ke Tadaima
Mondaijitachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sou Desu yo
Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shuraba Sugiru
Sasami-san@Ganbaranai
Tamako Market
Yama no Susume

What I dropped after 5 weeks into the season

Senran Kagura
Amnesia
Hakkenden: Touhou Hakken Ibun
Cuticle Tantei Inaba
Vividred Operation
Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited – Hyoubu Kyousuke (I did not drop this because I thought it was bad or anything. Reason of why I dropped it will be in the section itself.)

Skip to:

Top 5 Best
Top 5 Worst
Overall Season Rating

Boku no Imouto wa Osaka Okan
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

So cheap!

This was the first “short” series to air and the first series I picked up in the fall season. There isn’t really much to say about this as it’s just little short scenes about a boy’s sister who suddenly turned into a “Osaka Mama”. Generally there are few jokes here and there that get me to chuckle. 3 Minutes a night on Fridays isn’t so bad which is why I decided to pick this up. This series is flash animated sort of like the old Nyaruko in a sense so the animation might look a bit weird compared to others.

Chihayafuru 2
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

:DShinobu!
Oh man, I can’t wait to see more of Chihaya and Shinobu!

[HorribleSubs] Chihayafuru S2 - 02 [720p].mkv_snapshot_07.41_[2013.02.06_21.56.00][HorribleSubs] Chihayafuru S2 - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_16.38_[2013.02.06_21.56.37]
Meet the 2 new members of the Karuta club!

I LOVED the first season of this show. This was definitely one of the most underrated shows ever. When the first season aired I was only willing to give this 1 episode to see if it was worth my time or not. I would never imagine a anime about a Japanese cultural card game could be this interesting. The first season was a complete blast and I enjoyed it more than I should have. When this first aired I was pretty much excited as fuck to the point where I started twitching, hue. Season 2 pretty much starts off where season 1 left off. Although there wasn’t really any karuta games going on there was additional members to the club. After 2 episodes the story jumps right into the next High School tournament match, oh boy how I missed the feeling of watching those karuta games. It’s like every time the show is showing a match, the episode just flies by. It’s as if the 20 minutes just magically became 3 or something. This is probably one of my most anticipated shows each week this season. Everyone who has seen and enjoyed season 1 should definitely watch this if they haven’t already. For those who haven’t seen season 1 I suggest you give it a try. Who knows? You might just end up liking it as much as I did.

GJ-bu
Subgroup: [Anime-Koi]

No, YOU'RE really cute.Onii-chan!
Kirara :3o o

This is pretty much one of your average Slice of Life-Comedy shows. It reminds me of Seitokai Yakuindomo as the setting takes place in a club room and it’s just random shorts/events going on. Being that my favorite genre’s are Slice of Life and Comedy, I enjoyed this show quite a bit. Characters are cute all around especially Kirara :3. The show is generally funny, it’s something I watch while munching on snacks if you catch my drift~ Overall it’s a good show, not really much plot or conflict just excerpts of scenes somewhat like Minami-ke/Seitokai Yakuindomo/Mitsudomoe/Nichijou. If you like stuff like this, be sure to check it out.

Puchimas!: Petit iDOLM@STER
Subgroup: [Chibiki] aka – [UTW]

[Chibiki] Puchimas! - 03 [360p][703CAE68].mkv_snapshot_00.49_[2013.02.09_01.56.08][Chibiki] Puchimas! - 20 [360p][A6CE044B].mkv_snapshot_00.36_[2013.02.09_01.56.38]
[Chibiki] Puchimas! - 02v2 [360p][587491E2].mkv_snapshot_01.37_[2013.02.09_01.56.53][Chibiki] Puchimas! - 02v2 [360p][587491E2].mkv_snapshot_02.11_[2013.02.09_01.58.12]

Another one of those short series but this is a bit different from the others. It airs almost daily (Mon-Sat with an exception of Sat being a VA special which faggot Kusion doesn’t sub.) This short show is based off of the TV series that aired about a year ago, The iDOLM@STER. If you watched iDOLM@STER be sure to watch this. If you haven’t seen iDOLM@STER you can still watch this, it doesn’t really require prior knowledge but it’s recommended that you do have some. This show is just cute cute and more cute, hue.

Kotoura-san
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

[HorribleSubs] Kotoura-san - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_03.58_[2013.02.09_01.58.55][HorribleSubs] Kotoura-san - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_04.53_[2013.02.09_01.59.03]
[HorribleSubs] Kotoura-san - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_14.23_[2013.02.09_01.59.11][HorribleSubs] Kotoura-san - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.38_[2013.02.09_01.59.25]

This show is very very VERY deep……. or so I thought it was. The first half of the first episode caught me off guard surely. It starts off with a very deep back story, it gives you the feeling that it will be a dark, gloomy, and messed up series but the whole thing was apparently just a bluff. Although there are more dark stuff that happens later on in the series, overall it’s something you can watch and laugh about. It’s enjoyable in it’s own way and I’d recommend it to probably anyone.

Love Live! School Idol Project
Subgroup: [FFF]

[FFF] Love Live! - 02 [1643F52C].mkv_snapshot_14.05_[2013.02.09_02.00.52][FFF] Love Live! - 02 [1643F52C].mkv_snapshot_13.18_[2013.02.09_02.00.45]
[FFF] Love Live! - 03 [3C03E3EA].mkv_snapshot_18.30_[2013.02.09_02.01.20]Best girl

This show reminds me of iDOLM@STER in some way. Although it’s not identical it’s a bit similar in terms of the “path to become an idol” sort of thing. Characters are cute, the songs are cute, the dances are just fabulous. Character designs are good in my opinion, and the choreography in the OP is pretty sweet. If you’re into idol shows, or just shows with cute girls dancing and singing, watch this!

Mangirl!
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

Another one of those shorts this season. It’s alright in it’s own way. It has it’s funny scenes something I wouldn’t mind using 3 minutes of my Wednesdays to watch.

[HorribleSubs] Mangirl! - 04 [720p].mkv_snapshot_02.31_[2013.02.09_02.03.52][HorribleSubs] Mangirl! - 04 [720p].mkv_snapshot_01.20_[2013.02.09_02.03.46]

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

Before watching this, I was told by people who have read the manga that this was going to be really good. I think think is a fairy decent show but not as good as I thought it would be considering all the good feedback I got from the manga readers. The story is quite realistic as it technically relates to economics and politics. One thing I dislike about this is the size of the demon king’s breasts. They’re WAY too big and it just makes this realistic show look like a joke. jk cow tits are always nice.

Overall not a bad series at all. I would recommend people who are into stuff like wars, economy, politics, trade, and stuff related to that. You may get sidetracked by the other stupid stuff going on though.

Minami-ke Tadaima
Subgroup: [UTW]

[UTW]_Minami-ke_Tadaima_-_05_[h264-720p][E69262E4].mkv_snapshot_11.56_[2013.02.09_02.08.46][UTW]_Minami-ke_Tadaima_-_05_[h264-720p][E69262E4].mkv_snapshot_10.44_[2013.02.09_02.09.15]
[UTW]_Minami-ke_Tadaima_-_05_[h264-720p][E69262E4].mkv_snapshot_21.16_[2013.02.09_02.10.17][UTW]_Minami-ke_Tadaima_-_05_[h264-720p][E69262E4].mkv_snapshot_06.01_[2013.02.09_02.10.25]

Oh my oh my. What can I really say about this except that it’s Minami-ke? If you haven’t seen season 1-3 you should watch it before watching this. Alternatively you honestly just need to watch season 1 before you can watch it.

Mondaijitachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sou Desu yo
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

[HorribleSubs] Mondaijitachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sou Desu yo - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_16.31_[2013.02.09_02.12.46][HorribleSubs] Mondaijitachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sou Desu yo - 04 [720p].mkv_snapshot_09.49_[2013.02.09_02.12.05]
[HorribleSubs] Mondaijitachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sou Desu yo - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_19.22_[2013.02.09_02.12.50][HorribleSubs] Mondaijitachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sou Desu yo - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_07.30_[2013.02.09_02.11.38]

I actually enjoyed this A LOT. Probably one out of the very few this season that I believe everyone should give a try. The story is set in another dimension where people who have special powers are gathered. Like many MMO’s there are guilds/factions, duels, trades, and etc. I don’t know if it’s because I’m a gamer or not but this definitely is on my top list for this season.

Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shuraba Sugiru
Subgroup: [rori]

[rori] Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shurabasugiru - 02 [30DC4C02].mkv_snapshot_16.42_[2013.02.09_02.14.24][rori] Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shurabasugiru - 05 [12445797].mkv_snapshot_19.51_[2013.02.09_02.15.27]
SAMEFAG[rori] Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shurabasugiru - 04 [F48C41C1].mkv_snapshot_17.03_[2013.02.09_02.14.48]

This show reminds me of Sakurasou too much, lol. It’s a good show I guess, this is one of the shows where I would prefer a certain girl to win but in the end she never wins. Another one of those childhood friend harem shows. If you like Sakurasou you might like this as well. Saaaaa~

Sasami-san@Ganbaranai
Subgroup: [gg]

[gg]_Sasami-san@Ganbaranai_-_02_[EEF8C9E9].mkv_snapshot_09.46_[2013.02.09_02.18.01][gg]_Sasami-san@Ganbaranai_-_05_[6C2060E1].mkv_snapshot_11.34_[2013.02.09_02.18.11]
[gg]_Sasami-san@Ganbaranai_-_02_[EEF8C9E9].mkv_snapshot_17.38_[2013.02.09_02.18.07][gg]_Sasami-san@Ganbaranai_-_04_[4D5B88AF].mkv_snapshot_12.50_[2013.02.09_02.18.20]

Oh SHAFT, oh SHAFT. This is so good yet so mindfucking. Sorry, I don’t have motivation to talk about this, just watch it. Cough.

Tamako Market
Subgroup: [Mazui]

So for those of you who don’t know, I’m actually a huge KyoAni fag. I’m a sucker for cute girls doing cute things therefore this is officially the best series this season. Ijou.

[Mazui]_Tamako_Market_-_03_[4CD0E3A9].mkv_snapshot_12.46_[2013.02.09_02.25.19][Mazui]_Tamako_Market_-_04_[148BE582].mkv_snapshot_09.23_[2013.02.09_02.26.21][Mazui]_Tamako_Market_-_02_[A74AB4F2].mkv_snapshot_03.37_[2013.02.09_02.24.24][Mazui]_Tamako_Market_-_02_[A74AB4F2].mkv_snapshot_18.20_[2013.02.09_02.24.33]

On a more serious note this is a pretty fun series. It’s hilarious especially with the fat chicken looking bird that just flops around talking about utter nonsense lol. I’d say KyoAni did quite a good job considering how it was a original that was based around mochi. Dera-mochi-UMAIIII!

Yama no Susume
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

More shorts! I actually like this one quite a lot. Gives me this feel…. I can’t really explain what kind of feel but it’s a good feel. Kind of wish it was a longer type series instead of a short.

Senran Kagura
Subgroup: [Hiryuu]

Dropped after episode 1. I’m just not really into these shows where their tits are the size of their fucking head. Unless the plot is REALLY interesting and drags me in from episode 1, I probably won’t be able to stand the series entirely.

Amnesia
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

Holy shit, I had so much expectations for this. The first episode was completely like “What the fuck is going on?”, disastrous. I gave it another chance, however in episode 2 the “What the hell am I watching” just comes back again. I decided that I would give it a FINAL pass before I would drop it. I mean hey, sometimes it just takes a few episodes for the story and action and whatever to kick in right? NOPE. After 5 minutes of episode 3 I ripped my hair out and just closed it. To sum it up, this was EXTREMELY boring. Unless someone tells me that it improves later on, I don’t have ANY plans to pick it up again.

Hakkenden: Touhou Hakken Ibun
Subgroup: [Anime-Koi]

Episode 1 was like a 5 hour train ride, lol. Just couldn’t get into it I guess.

Cuticle Tantei Inaba
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

Episode 1 wasn’t that bad. I actually sat through the whole episode but I didn’t really think much about the show. The only reason why this is “dropped” is because after episode 1 I just didn’t feel like downloading the other episodes Oh well, I may or may not pick it up when its complete.

Vividred Operation
Subgroup: [JK] aka GotWoot & EveTaku

I had a total different image in mind for this, unbelievable. After the first 2 episodes with 2+ cringing transformation scenes my mind was going to blow the hell up. At episode 3 when they TRANSFORMED AGAIN I just shut the video player once and for all.

Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited – Hyoubu Kyousuke
Subgroup: CrunchyRoll – [HorribleSubs]

I actually enjoyed this A LOT. If anything I would’ve put this on the top 5 list however, I’ve never seen the original Zettai Karen Children. I only found out that it was a spin off series after it reached episode 3. I am so bad…. LOL.

Anyways here’s the Top 5 list for the good and the bad.

Top 5 Worst Shows of Winter 2012/13
1. Senran Kagura
2. Amnesia
3. Hakkenden: Touhou Hakken Ibun
4. Vividred Operation
5. gdgd Fairies 2

Overall Season Rating: 7/10

Had it not been for Chihayafuru 2 and Haganai 2, this season would’ve probably been the shittiest in the past 2 years for me. In the past 2 years I don’t think I’ve ever dropped more than 3 shows in 1 season. Anywhom, thanks for reading or not reading my review. If you have any disagreements with my opinions feel free to comment about it below.

7 thoughts on “Winter 2012/13 Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *